The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans consists of seven commissioners. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from a list of three nominations submitted by 19 local civic, labor, education and maritime groups.

The Board reflects the Port’s three-parish jurisdiction, with four members from Orleans Parish, two from Jefferson Parish and one from St. Bernard Parish. Commissioner Laney J. Chouest and Commissioner Jack C. Jensen represent Jefferson Parish. Chairman Arnold B. Baker, Vice-Chair Tara C. Hernandez, Secretary-Treasurer Darryl D. Berger and Commissioner William H. Langenstein represent Orleans Parish. Commissioner Charles H. Ponstein represents St. Bernard Parish.

Future Board Meetings

August Board Meetings

  • August 19 Committee Meetings Agenda
  • August 22 Regular Board Meeting

2019 Regular Board Meetings

Beginning in January 2019, Regular Meetings of the Board of Commissioners will convene on Thursdays at 1:30 p.m. unless otherwise specified.

  • August 22
  • September 26
  • October 24
  • November 21
  • December 19

For information on past board meetings click here.